Award for Sustained Contributions

The Award for Sustained Contributions is made to an individual who has a track record for publishing relevant articles of consistently high quality and impact in the primary, peer-reviewed, biomedical literature over a minimum of 20 years. Emphasis is placed on the significance and impact of the nominee's contributions to the biomedical literature, rather than quantity of articles. Ten (10) of the candidate's most significant original, peer-reviewed articles will be evaluated in this award category.

Award Description
The recipient of this award receives a $4,000 honorarium, a $1,000 expense allowance to attend the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting for the award ceremony, and a plaque.

Nomination and Submission Process
The ASHP Foundation promotes this program and solicits nominations and self-nominations through our communication channels and specifically from ASHP component groups (e.g., sections, advisory groups), the editors of AJHP, and deans of schools/colleges of pharmacy. ASHP members and affiliated state societies may also nominate candidates for this award. Authors may nominate themselves as well.

Submission for this program is initiated by either: 

All of the articles submitted as the ten (10) highest impact contributions must have been published in a PubMed-indexed, peer-reviewed biomedical journal. Applicant are also required to submit a biographical sketch, which will be used in the review of the applicant's overall contributions to the biomedical literature.
For this award, the author must be a pharmacist. Past recipients of this award are not eligible for re-nomination.

Selection panel members, ASHP staff members, ASHP Foundation staff members, members of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation Board of Directors, and members of the ASHP Board of Directors are not eligible to apply for this award.

Selection Process

Each nomination will be reviewed by members of a review panel, composed of former recipients of the Award for Sustained Contributions, appointed by the Board of Directors of the ASHP Foundation. 

The recipient of the award will be notified after the review is completed, and a public announcement of the recipient will be made prior to the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting. Awards are formally presented during the Literature Awards Breakfast at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting.  

Award Recipients
Learn more about awardees chosen this year and from previous years.