Award for Excellence in Medication Safety

The 2017 Letter of Intent application cycle is now open.
Online Application
Application Instructions: Criteria & Award Details
Application deadline: January 4, 2017

Listen to the 2017 "How to Submit a Successful Application" webinar HERE!

The ASHP Foundation and Cardinal Health Foundation created the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety in 2004. This is the only award program to honor a pharmacist-led inter-professional team for its significant institution-wide system improvements relating to medication use. The $50,000 award recognizes on a national level pharmacy professionals who have assumed a leadership role in promoting safety in the medication-use process. The award also honors two finalists, who each receive $10,000. As a recipient or finalist your organization  will have many opportunities for recognition, including dissemination opportunities to share and highlight your program best practices with a larger audience. For full  details about the award and application criteria, please review the application  instructions by following the link above.

2016 Awards Finalists announced!

Learn about the rich history of the program by watching this 3-minute video.

Excellence Awards Videos
To see video presentations of each recipient and finalist, click here.

Patient Safety Awareness Week and Poison Prevention Week
Each year, the ASHP Foundation holds a radio media tour to raise awareness of patient safety. Representatives from the organizations who have received the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety make themselves available to talk with radio shows across the country about medication safety topics.

The 2015 Medication Safety Radio Media Tour was held on Thursday, March 5th. The live interviews aired on March 5th. Many of the interviews were taped and air during National Patient Safety Awareness Week, March 8-14, 2015. Listen to this year's radio news release.

Listen to past interviews!

Past Awards Recipients
2015 Awards Recipients
2014 Awards Recipients
2013 Awards Recipients
2012 Awards Recipients
2011 Awards Recipients
2010 Awards Recipients
2009 Awards Recipients
2008 Awards Recipients 
2007 Awards Recipients 
2006 Awards Recipients 
2005 Awards Recipients 
2004 Awards Recipients

2015 Selection Panel
Selection Panel Members

View the 2015 Awards Video