Meghan Swarthout

Meghan Swarthout is the Division Director of Ambulatory and Care Transitions for the Department of Pharmacy at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and the Associate Director of Clinical Services for Johns Hopkins Outpatient Pharmacy. In her current role, Meghan oversees the clinical services and drug distribution operations for ambulatory clinics and infusion centers. She oversees clinical specialty and community pharmacy services for Johns Hopkins Outpatient Pharmacy, and she maintains a clinical practice in anticoagulation clinic.

She led the team that redesigned the interdisciplinary transitions of care model for Johns Hopkins Health System, and her team was a recipient of the ASHP-APhA Medication Management in Care Transitions Best Practices Award. Meghan is the current President of Maryland Society of Health System Pharmacy and Chair of the ASHP Council on Education and Workforce Development. Meghan earned her Doctorate of Pharmacy from Ohio Northern University. Following completion of her PharmD, Meghan completed her PGY1 and PGY2 in Health System Pharmacy Administration at The Johns Hopkins Hospital while also completing her MBA in Medical Services Management at Johns Hopkins University.