Philip Schneider

  Philip J. Schneider, M.S., FASHP, is Clinical Professor and Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs for the University of Arizona, College of Pharmacy at the Phoenix Biomedical campus. In this position, he provides oversight, development, and administration of educational initiatives including teaching, service and scholarship activities at the newly created Phoenix Biomedical Campus. 

Prior to this position, for 33 years he held positions at the Ohio State University including most recently Clinical Professor and Director of the Latiolais Leadership Program at the Ohio State University, an inter professional program to advance leadership in pharmacy and improve the medication use system to reduce adverse drug events.
Before taking this position, for 21 years he held pharmacy practice and administrative positions at the Ohio State University Medical Center and was responsible for the Pharmacy Residency program at which 99 residents were trained during his years as program director. Active in national organizations that establish standards for measurement and performance of medication use systems, he has recently served on the National Quality Forum Steering Committee on Serious Reportable Events in Healthcare and served as a member of the Institute of Medicine Committee on Patient Safety and Health Information Technology.

During his 41 years of professional and academic service, he has published more than 180 articles and abstracts in professional and scientific journals, 38 book chapters, edited seven books and given more than 500 contributed or invited presentations in 22 countries and the US. He is a past president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and past president of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (A.S.P.E.N.), having served for ten years as the first Editor-in-Chief of Nutrition in Clinical Practice, one of its official publications. Active in international pharmacy, he has served Chairman of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), Secretary and newsletter editor of the Hospital Pharmacy Section, chairman of the Congress Planning Committee for FIP and is now a Vice President of FIP. In 2006, he was presented with the Donald E. Francke Medal for significant international contributions to health-system pharmacy.  He was selected as the recipient of the 2008 Harvey A.K Whitney award, known as health-system pharmacy’s highest honor for his outstanding contributions to the practice of pharmacy in health systems. In 2010, he was recognized as a Fellow of FIP (FFIP).