Henri Manasse

Henri R. Manasse Jr., was Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) from July 1, 1997 through December 31, 2011. He retired from ASHP and presently serves as Professor and Dean Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Manasse received his Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from the University of Illinois at the Medical Center, a Master of Arts degree in educational psychology from Loyola University of Chicago, and the Ph.D. in pharmacy administration from the University of Minnesota.  He is the 2007 recipient of the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, and is also the recipient of Honorary Doctor of Science degrees from Campbell University, Mercer University, Union University, Long Island University, Thomas Jefferson University, the University of the Sciences of Philadelphia and the University of Salamanca, Spain. In 2014, the St. Louis College of Pharmacy presented him with the Henry Milton Whelpley Sesquicentennial Medal. He is the author of several books and has published extensively in the health sciences literature. He was awarded the prestigious Joseph A. Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) in 2015.          
Prior to his joining ASHP, Dr. Manasse was Vice President for Health Sciences, The University of Iowa, and Chairman of the Board of the University of Iowa Health System.  He previously served as interim Vice Chancellor for Health Services, University of Illinois at Chicago Medical Center.
He has held a variety of academic and administrative positions including dean, professor of pharmacy administration, and professor of health professions education at the College of Pharmacy, University of Illinois at Chicago.  In 1988-1989, he served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.  He was appointed Visiting Professor at the Peking Union Medical College Hospital in Beijing, the University of Nottingham and the University College London. In 1996 he was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.  He is also a member of the Institute of Medicine of Chicago.

In 2006, he was appointed chair of the newly formed Board of Governors of the National Patient Safety Foundation.  He also co-chaired the Safe Practices Steering Committee and the Advisory Committee for Executive Leadership of the National Quality Foryn.  He chaired the Sentinel Event Alert Advisory Group at the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO). He also served Joint Commission International (JCI) as a member of the Steering Committee on Patient Safety.  He served on the Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee of the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for three years.   In 2005, he was elected as the Professional Secretary of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP).  He was awarded Fellowship in FIP in 2008. He also served on the Board of Advisors of the Association of Academic Health Centers project on the “Future of the Health Professions Work Force.”

Dr. Manasse is listed in the 62nd edition of Who’s Who in America (2008) and the 10th Anniversary edition of Who’s Who in Science and Engineering (2008). He currently is listed in the 7th edition of Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare (2006) and the 25th Silver Anniversary edition of Who’s Who in the World (2007).