Rita Shane

Rita Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP is Chief Pharmacy Officer at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, an 886 bed acute, tertiary care, teaching institution in Los Angeles and Assistant Dean, Clinical Pharmacy Services, at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Pharmacy.  She received her Pharm.D. degree from the University of Southern California.

Dr. Shane began her career at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center as an intern pharmacist and specialized in Pediatrics during her early career. She was promoted to Clinical Coordinator and served as Assistant Director prior to becoming the Director of Pharmacy in 1988.  With increasing system level responsibility, she became the Chief Pharmacy Officer in 2015. She has been on the faculty of USC and UCSF Schools of Pharmacy for over 20 years.

Throughout her career, Dr. Shane has been actively involved in the profession. Dr. Shane was a co-investigator in two research studies in collaboration with the UCSF School of Pharmacy and approved by the California State Board of Pharmacy demonstrating the safety and impact, respectively, of allowing technicians to check technician-filled medication cassettes in hospitals. She also worked collaboratively with CSHP to author language in support of this regulatory change, which was approved in California in 2007.  Dr. Shane has served on numerous CSHP and ASHP Committees. She served as Chair of the CSHP Task Force that established the CSHP Practitioner Recognition Program and Chair of the ASHP Pharmacy Practice Management which preceded the Section on Pharmacy Practice Management.  She was also the ASHP representative to the American Hospital Association Health Professions Committee from 2003-2008, the National Quality Forum, Patient Safety Advisory Committee in 2009 and the Joint Commission Hospital Professional Technical Committee from 2007-2013.
Dr. Shane has been recognized for her contributions and was named as one of the “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety,” in the 2013 Becker Hospital Review. She is the 2012 recipient of the Harvey A.K. Whitney Award, the highest honor in health-system pharmacy.  In 2012, she was also the recipient of the National Rho Chi Society Alumni Honor Roll awarded to an alumnus who has “advanced the profession through intellectual leadership and the pursuit of excellence”. She received the California Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists, Pharmacist of the Year Award in 2007 and the ASHP Distinguished Service Award the same year.  She received the ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award in 2005 and the John Webb Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy on management excellence in 1996.   

Dr. Shane has written over 85 papers and was author of one of the ASHP Practice Model Summit papers. She was the U.S. facilitator and author of an international paper on medication administration at the Global Conference on the Future of Hospital Pharmacy held in 2008.  In the area of research, Dr. Shane was co-investigator of a 2000 National Patient Safety Foundation Research Award to study the impact of dedicated medication nurses on the rate of medication administration errors which was subsequently published in the Archives of Internal Medicine. She also served as an investigator in a multicenter study of medications errors recovered by emergency department pharmacists supported by the ASHP Foundation which was published in the Annals of Emergency Medicine.  Her current area of research interest is in transitions of care.
Dr. Shane has provided over 175 presentations and recently served as the keynote speaker at pharmacy meetings in Singapore and Spain. She loves teaching and has mentored over 110 residents.  Her Big Hairy Audacious Goal is that patients ask “Where is my pharmacist?” whenever they receive healthcare services.