Courses and Faculty

The topics identified for the courses listed below are based on a set of identified competencies required to be an effective pharmacy leader.

To see the learning objectives, see the:
For course schedules, see these links:
An exceptional faculty has been assembled to lead the Academy. Faculty members include the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award and the John W. Webb Award winners as well as Fellows of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Meet Sharon Murphy Enright, Academy Course Master. Click on the names of the faculty members listed below to view their biographies.

For a compilation of the course objectives, read the PLA Course Descriptions and Learning Outcomes.
Below is a list of course titles and 2017 faculty details.

Course 1: Leading the Pharmacy Enterprise: Building the Business of Pharmacy

James A. Jorgenson, R.Ph., M.S., FASHP
Jennifer Austin, Pharm.D.
David Kvancz, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP
Deepak Sisodiya, Pharm.D., MHA

Course 2: Leading With Influence
Sara J. White, M.S., FASHP
Kate Farthing, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP
Jennifer Tryon, Pharm.D., M.S.
Samuel Calabrese, M.B.A., R.Ph., FASHP

Course 3: Leading System Reliability for Safety and Quality

Ronald H. Small, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A.
Jason Chou, Pharm.D., M.S.
James R. Rinehart, R.Ph., M.S., FASHP
Nicole Mollenkopf, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS

Course 4: Leading for Financial Effectiveness
Steven B. Cano, M.S., R.Ph.
Patrick E. Parker, M.S., R.Ph.
Harold N. Godwin, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FASHP, FAPhA        
Deborah Sanchez, Pharm.D., M.H.A., DPLA, BCPS

Course 5: Leading Transformational Change and Innovation
Michael Melby, M.S.
Valorie Wilkins, R.Ph., M.S., M.B.A., MHIHM
Sharon Murphy Enright, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A.
John D. Pastor lll, Pharm.D., FASHP

Course 6: Strategic Clinical Leadership

Monica Akus, Pharm.D., BCPS, DPLA
Robert Carta, Pharm.D.
Susan D. Bear, Pharm.D., BCPS
Timothy R. Pasquale, Pharm.D., M.B.A., FIDSA      

Course 7: Leading the Pharmacy Enterprise for Organizational Success
Sharon Murphy Enright, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A.
Katherine A. Miller, Pharm.D., M.H.A., DPLA
Meghan Swarthout, Pharm.D., M.B.A.