Award for Excellence in Medication Safety

The 2016 application cycle is now closed. Please check back for information about the next program offering or sign up for the ASHP Foundation E-news for the latest information about all of our programs.

The ASHP Foundation and Cardinal Health Foundation created the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety in 2004. This is the only award program to honor a pharmacist-led interprofessional team for its significant institution-wide system improvements relating to medication use. The $50,000 award recognizes on a national level pharmacy professionals who have assumed a leadership role in promoting safety in the medication-use process. The award also honors two finalists, who each receive $10,000.

Learn about the rich history of the program by watching this 3-minute video.

Past Awards Recipients
2015 Awards Recipients
2014 Awards Recipients
2013 Awards Recipients
2012 Awards Recipients
2011 Awards Recipients
2010 Awards Recipients
2009 Awards Recipients
2008 Awards Recipients 
2007 Awards Recipients 
2006 Awards Recipients 
2005 Awards Recipients 
2004 Awards Recipients

2015 Selection Panel
Selection Panel Members

Excellence Awards Videos
To see video presentations of each recipient and finalist, click here.

Patient Safety Awareness Week and Poison Prevention Week
Each year, the ASHP Foundation holds a radio media tour to raise awareness of patient safety. Representatives from the organizations who have received the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety make themselves available to talk with radio shows across the country about medication safety topics.

The 2015 Medication Safety Radio Media Tour was held on Thursday, March 5th. The live interviews aired on March 5th. Many of the interviews were taped and air during National Patient Safety Awareness Week, March 8-14, 2015. Listen to this year's radio news release.

Listen to past interviews!

View the 2015 Awards Video