Award for Excellence in Medication Safety

Offered in partnership with the Cardinal Health Foundation

The 2017 application cycle is now closed. Please check back for information about the next program offering or sign up for the ASHP Foundation E-news for the latest information about all of our programs.

The ASHP Foundation and Cardinal Health Foundation created the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety in 2004. This is the only award program to honor a pharmacist-led inter-professional team for its significant institution-wide system improvements relating to medication use. The $50,000 award recognizes on a national level pharmacy professionals who have assumed a leadership role in promoting safety in the medication-use process. The award also honors two finalists, who each receive $10,000. As a recipient or finalist your organization  will have many opportunities for recognition, including dissemination opportunities to share and highlight your program best practices with a larger audience. 

2016 Awards Recipient and Finalists announced!

NEW Resource

Our Medication Safety Best Practices Educational  Series features educational webinars focusing on medication safety presented by the previous year’s Award for Excellence finalists. Continuing education credits for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians are available.
Learn about the rich history of the program by watching this 3-minute video.

Excellence Awards Videos
To see video presentations of each recipient and finalist, click here.

Patient Safety Awareness Week and Poison Prevention Week
Each year, the ASHP Foundation holds a radio media tour to raise awareness of patient safety. Representatives from the organizations who have received the Award for Excellence in Medication Safety make themselves available to talk with radio shows across the country about medication safety topics.

The 2017 Medication Safety Radio Media Tour took place on March 9, 2017, with live interviews airing that day. Many of the interviews were taped and will air during National Patient Safety Awareness Week, March 12-18, 2017. Listen to the 2017 radio news release.

Listen to this year's and past interviews!

Past Awards Recipients

2015 Awards Recipients
2014 Awards Recipients
2013 Awards Recipients
2012 Awards Recipients
2011 Awards Recipients
2010 Awards Recipients
2009 Awards Recipients
2008 Awards Recipients 
2007 Awards Recipients 
2006 Awards Recipients 
2005 Awards Recipients 
2004 Awards Recipients

2015 Selection Panel
Selection Panel Members

View the 2016 Awards Video