Literature Awards
Recognizing Contributions to Biomedical Literature

Literature Awards

Literature Award

2019 Literature Awardees

Learn more about the work of our Literature Awardees and their contributions to biomedical literature. See abstracts below.

Midyear 2019 Logo

2019 Timeline

Recipients selected: Late August/Early September 2019 Recipients notified: Late September 2019 - Recipients announced by press release and acknowledged at the Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas, NV, December 8 – 12, 2019.

2018 Award Recipients

2018 recipient: Award for Sustained Contributions 

Rhonda Cooper-DeHoff, Pharm. D., M.S.

University of Florida, Gainesvile, FL

View Awards Video

Laney K. Jones, Pharm.D., M.P.H., and co-authors

“Medication Therapy Disease Management: Geisinger’s Approach to Population Health Management”

2018 Recipient:  Award for Drug Therapy Research

Kirk E. Evoy, Pharm.D., and co-authors

“Abuse and Misuse of Pregabalin and Gabapentin: A Systematic Review”

2018 recipient: Award for Pharmacy Practice Research 

Almut G. Winterstein, Ph.D., and co-authors

“Development and Validation of a Complexity Score to Rank Hospitalized Patients at Risk for Preventable Adverse Drug Events”

Matthew Grey
2018 recipient: award for Student Research 

Matthew P. Gray, Pharm.D. and co-authors

“Outcomes of Patients with Atrial Fibrillation Newly Recommended for Oral Anticoagulation Under the 2014 American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology/Heart Rhythm Society Guideline”

Literature Awards

2018 Midyear Clinical Meeting - Literature Awards Breakfast

This awards program annually recognizes original, significant contributions to biomedical literature by pharmacists .

Awardee Experience

Review Panelist & 2008 Award Recipient

"This award recognizes those within our profession of pharmacy who have devoted their lives to making an impact in the understanding of diseases and the care of patients by sharing their research in scientific literature."

Dr. William (Doug) Figg
Pharm.D., M.B.A., National Cancer Institute
2018 Award Recipient

"It is encouraging that ASHP champions student research, and the receipt of this award highlights the impact that students are able to have when they are motivated to pursue ambitious projects."

Dr. Matthew Gray
Pharm.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Support the ASHP Foundation

With your meaningful contributions, we can continue to support programs that advance pharmacy practice, enhance medication safety, and improve patient outcomes. Help us move pharmacy forward by donating today.