Abstract Hero image

Research Advisory Council

Research Grants

ASHP Foundation Establishes Research Advisory Council 

With research being at the forefront of the ASHP Foundation’s mission, the Foundation established a Research Advisory Council to guide the focus and expansion of our research program. The Council developed a research agenda framework of Core Principles and Priority Research Areas that align with the Foundation’s mission and ASHP’s major priorities and are at the forefront of the national healthcare agenda.

Council Members

M. Lynn Crismon, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D.  
Council Chair 
Dean, Doluisio Chair, & Behrens Professor  
The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy
 Austin, TX 

Mary A. Andrawis, Pharm.D., M.P.H.
Executive Director, High Reliability  American Hospital Association
Chicago, IL

Kathryn V. Blake, Pharm.D., BCPS, CIP 
Director, Center for Pharmacogenomics and Translational Research  
Nemours Children's Specialty Care 
Jacksonville, FL

W. Anthony Hawkins, Pharm.D., BCCCP  
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy University of Georgia College of Pharmacy Southwest Georgia Clinical Campus Albany, GA

Laney K. Jones, Pharm.D., M.P.H.   
Assistant Professor, Genomic Medicine Institute and Assistant Professor, Center for Pharmacy Innovation and Outcomes 
Geisinger, Danville, PA

James S. Kalus, Pharm.D. 
Director of Pharmacy, Henry Ford Health System PGY1 RPD, Henry Ford Hospital 
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Wayne State Pharmacy School and Medical School 
Detroit, MI

Heather L. Ourth, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCGP  
National Program Manager: Clinical Pharmacy Practice Program & Outcomes Assessment Department of Veterans Affairs, Pharmacy Benefits Management Services 
Ackworth, IA

Dima M. Qato, Pharm.D., M.P.H., Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 
University of Illinois at Chicago
 Chicago, IL

Michael J. Rybak, Pharm.D., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacy and Medicine Wayne State University 
Detroit, MI

Kenneth M. Shermock, Pharm.D., Ph.D.   
Director, Center for Medication Quality and Outcomes, The Johns Hopkins Health System 
Baltimore, MD

Mark Sullivan, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS 
Executive Director, Pharmacy Operations Vanderbilt University Hospital & Clinics 
Nashville, TN

Kayla M. Waldron, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS  
Assistant Director, Acute and Ambulatory Clinical Services 
UNC Hospitals 
Chapel Hill, NC

C. Michael M. White, Pharm.D. 
Dept. Head Pharmacy Practice and Co-Director of HOPES Research Group 
University of Connecticut 
Storrs, CT

Ken Perez, M.B.A. 
ASHP Foundation Board Liaison 
Vice President of Healthcare Policy, Omnicell, Inc. Mountain View, CA

Barbara B. Nussbaum, B.S.Pharm., Ph.D. 
Council Secretary 
Vice President, Research & Education ASHP Foundation 
Bethesda, MD

ASHP Liaisons

Kasey K. Thompson, Pharm.D., M.S., M.B.A.  
ASHP Chief Operating Officer, Sr. Vice President

Douglas J. Scheckelhoff, M.S. 

ASHP Sr. Vice President, Office of Practice Advancement