ASHP continues to monitor the spread of COVID-19. For the latest information and resources, visit the ASHP COVID-19 Resource Center. Learn more

Abstract Hero image

Grants Awarded to Expand Pharmacy Residency Programs

April 30, 2020

ASHP Foundation Announces Grants Awarded to Expand Pharmacy Residency Programs

The ASHP Foundation has awarded five grants of $25,000 to establish new residency positions through the Pharmacy Residency Expansion Grant Program.

Well-trained pharmacists are vital to the entire healthcare system. Residency training gives pharmacists opportunities and experiences to better prepare them for work in acute and ambulatory settings. The Pharmacy Residency Expansion Grant Program supports ASHP’s efforts to facilitate the preparation of the pharmacist workforce by expanding the number and diversity of residency positions.  Since the program’s inception in 2011, the ASHP Foundation has awarded a total of $3.3 million to 93 institutions. While the number of PGY1 and PGY2 residency positions continues to grow, those seeking residency training greatly exceeds the positions available. 

“Healthcare challenges such as the COVID-19 pandemic illustrate that there is an increasing demand for pharmacists with advanced training,” said ASHP Foundation Chief Executive Officer Steven A. Rubloff. “Supporting new residency positions is particularly important in advancing pharmacists’ skills and competence as healthcare leaders and clinicians.”

The program is supported by educational donations from AbbVie and Merck as well as contributions from ASHP members.

The recipients of the 2020 Pharmacy Residency Expansion Grants are:

Parkview Health
PGY1 Pharmacy Residency 
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Residency Program Director: Tara K. Jellison, Pharm.D., M.B.A.
Director of Pharmacy: Ed Strubel, Pharm.D.

Baptist Health Floyd
PGY1 Pharmacy Residency 
New Albany, Indiana
Residency Program Director: Abbey Breit, Pharm.D., BCPS
Director of Pharmacy: Michael McLain, Pharm.D., M.B.A.

University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy at Rockford
PGY1 Pharmacy Residency 
Rockford, Illinois
Residency Program Director: Kevin Rynn, Pharm.D.
Director of Pharmacy: Christopher Schriever, Pharm.D., M.S.

Geisinger Medical Center 
PGY2 Critical Care Residency Program
Danville, Pennsylvania 
Residency Program Director: Sarah F. Hale, Pharm.D., BCPPS
Director of Pharmacy: Angela Slampak-Cindric, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

University of Maryland Medical Center
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Pharmacy Residency
Baltimore, Maryland
Residency Program Director: Tracy M. Sparkes, Pharm.D., BCPS
Director of Pharmacy: Joseph DiCubellis, R.Ph., MPH
About the ASHP Foundation
The ASHP Foundation was established in 1968 by ASHP as a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization. As the philanthropic arm of ASHP, the Foundation shares ASHP's vision that medication use will be optimal, safe, and effective for all people all of the time. Our mission is to support ASHP by advancing the professional practice of pharmacists and the pharmacy workforce by funding research and education that improves health outcomes through optimal, safe, and effective medication use.

Contact Information
Steven A. Rubloff, Chief Executive Officer
ASHP Foundation

Shelby M. Giles
Communications Specialist
ASHP Foundation