Abstract Hero image

Michael D. Reed Receives 2020 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions

December 09, 2020

Michael D. Reed Receives 2020 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions

Michael D. Reed Receives 2020 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions
Awards Program Recognizes Published Research Demonstrating the Value of Pharmacists 

The ASHP Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Literature Awards. Since 1971, the Literature Awards Program stimulates research and innovation by recognizing pharmacists who have made significant contributions to biomedical literature.
Award for Sustained Contributions
The recipient of the prestigious Literature Award for Sustained Contributions is Michael D. Reed, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCP, Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Cleveland, Ohio. Dr. Reed conducts internationally recognized research on the developmental pharmacology and toxicology of drugs in humans. His work explores how these data translate into the design of optimal dosing regimens for use in neonates, infants, children, and adults.
Dr. Reed has been on the forefront of interprofessional research, serving on numerous governmental (e.g., NIH, FDA) and scholarly committees. He is the author of more than 250 published works describing his original research activities as well as invited reviews and book chapters. He is the recipient of numerous awards and held leadership positions in professional associations, including the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the American Society for Paternal and Enteral Nutrition. 
Dr. Reed has held leadership positions in research and academia, including serving as the founding Director of the Rebecca D. Considine Research Institute, Director of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology and Associate Chair, Department of Pediatrics at Children’s Hospital Medical Center of Akron (CHMCA) and Professor of Pediatrics, Northeastern Ohio Medical University (NEOMED). He was also Director of the Rainbow Clinical Research Center, Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital and University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center and held clinical and faculty positions at Case Western University School of Medicine and the University of Virginia in their departments of pediatrics.
Dr. Reed received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and post-baccalaureate Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati.  While obtaining his doctorate he concurrently served a clinical pharmacy/clinical pharmacology residency in pediatrics at the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, Ohio.
Awards for Innovation and Research
In addition to the lifetime achievement award, the awards' program recognizes authors of significant and impactful articles published in 2019 that demonstrate the value of the pharmacy workforce to patient care and outcomes.  
Award for Innovation in Pharmacy Practice
Ciantel Adair Blyler, Pharm.D. 
Clinical Pharmacist, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA
Victor RG, Blyler CA, Li N, et al. Sustainability of blood pressure reduction in black barbershops. Circulation. 2019;139(1):10-19.
Drug Therapy Research Award
Katie Suda, M.S. Pharm.D.
Professor, Research Health Scientist and Associate Director, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Suda KJ, Calip GS, Jifang Z, et al. Assessment of the appropriateness of antibiotic prescriptions for infection prophylaxis before dental procedures, 2011 to 2015. JAMA network open, 2(5), e193909. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2019.3909
Student Research Award

Marissa Powell, B.S.
Student, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Denver, CO

Powell MZ, Mueller SW, & Reynolds PM. Assessment of opioid cross-reactivity and provider perceptions in hospitalized patients with reported opioid allergies. Annals of Pharmacotherapy. 2019; 53(11), 1117–1123.
This valuable awards program is possible thanks to the generosity of donors to the ASHP Foundation Annual Fund. If you are attending the ASHP 2020 Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition, visit the Awards Stage to celebrate with us and learn more about these awardees.  

About the ASHP Foundation
The ASHP Foundation was established in 1968 by ASHP as a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization. As the philanthropic arm of ASHP, the ASHP Foundation shares ASHP’s vision that medication use will be optimal, safe, and effective for all people all of the time.  Our mission is to support ASHP by advancing the professional practice of pharmacists and the pharmacy workforce by funding research and education that improves health outcomes through optimal, safe, and effective medication use.

Contact Information
Barbara B. Nussbaum, Vice President for Research & Education
ASHP Foundation