Going to Midyear? Then register for our Pharmacy on the Move 5K Fun Run & Walk on Dec. 5! Learn More

Medication Safety Scholars

Medication Safety Scholars is a distance impact program designed for pharmacy students to develop into leaders with advanced knowledge and skills in medication safety and quality improvement. Offered in partnership with the Emily Jerry Foundation, the program's goals are to educate and develop the leadership skills of the next generation of pharmacists.

The Toolkit supports ASHP-affiliated Student Societies of Health-System Pharmacists (SSHPs) in developing students’ skills and knowledge in medication safety. Each section in the Toolkit outlines medication safety-focused initiatives and programming for pharmacy students, in addition to a video, infographics, and social media temples, also linked below.

Group photo of the Medication Safety Scholars

Meet the Medication Safety Scholars

The Medication Safety Toolkit is the culmination of the work of the first group of scholars selected for this program: Payson Ashmead, University of Utah College of Pharmacy, 2023; Lacey Gotcher, University of Houston College of Pharmacy, 2023; Brandéa Hardie, Medical University of South Carolina, 2024; Kristina Leav, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy, 2022; Adriana Weiser University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy, 2023