Help a Pharmacy Student Attend Midyear! Learn More!

Abstract Hero image

Press Release

November 16, 2022

Craig I. Coleman Receives ASHP Foundation 2022 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions

Annual Awards Program Recognizes Innovative Contributions to Biomedical Literature

The ASHP Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2022 Literature Awards. Awarded in five categories, the program recognizes pharmacists who have made significant contributions to biomedical literature.

Award for Sustained Contributions

The recipient of the Literature Award for Sustained Contributions is Craig I. Coleman, PharmD, FASHP, FACC, professor at the University of Connecticut (UConn).

Dr. Coleman earned his bachelor’s degree from Clark University in Worcester, MA, and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy. He completed a two-year research fellowship at Hartford Hospital, where he specialized in health outcomes and economics research. A full-time faculty member at the University of Connecticut since 2003, Dr. Coleman was granted tenure in 2009 and promoted to full professor in 2013. Until recently, he served as co-director and methods-chief for UConn’s Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality (AHRQ) Evidence-Based Practice Center, which performed systematic reviews and meta-analyses for the federal government.

Dr. Coleman has co-authored more than 400 publications in peer-reviewed journals, including JAMA, Annals of Internal Medicine, The Lancet, Circulation, European Heart Journal, Blood, Chest, Diabetes Care, Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis, Thrombosis and Haemostasis, and Critical Care.

Awards for Innovation, Research Projects

The Literature Awards also recognizes authors of significant and impactful articles published in 2021 that demonstrate the value of the pharmacy workforce to patient care and outcomes. The 2022 awardees are:

  • Drug Therapy Research

    Magdalene M. Assimon, PharmD, PhD, Patrick H. Pun, MD, MHS, Lily Chin-Hua Wang, PhD, Sana M. Al-Khatib, MD, MHS, M. Alan Brookhart, PhD, David J. Weber, MD, MPH, Wolfgang C. Winkelmayer, MD, ScD, and Jennifer E. Flythe, MD, MPH

    "Analysis of Respiratory Fluoroquinolones and the Risk of Sudden Cardiac Death Among Patients Receiving Hemodialysis,” JAMA Cardiology
  • Innovation in Pharmacy Practice

    Megan E. Klatt, PharmD, Lucas T. Schulz, PharmD, Dan Fleischman, PharmD, Barry C. Fox, MD, Stuart Burke, PharmD, Dave Grinder, MS, RPh, Warren E. Rose, PharmD, MPH, Alexander J. Lepak, MD, and David R. Andes, MD

    “Implementation of Telehealth Antimicrobial Stewardship Through Partnership of an Academic Medical Center and a Community Hospital,” AJHP
  • Pharmacy Practice Research

    Ina Liu, PharmD, MS, BCPS, Evan Colmenares, PharmD, Casey Tak, PhD, MPH, Mary-Haston Vest, PharmD, MS, BCPS, Henry Clark, PharmD, Maryann Oertel, PharmD, BCPS, and Ashley Pappas, PharmD, MHA

    “Development and Validation of a Predictive Model to Predict and Manage Drug Shortages,” AJHP
  • Student Research

    Salfee Bhathal, PharmD, BSc, Michael Nailor, PharmD, BCPS, Eldo Joseph, BS, and Kellie Goodlet, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP

    “Adherence and Outcomes of a Surgical Prophylaxis Guideline Promoting Cephalosporin Use Among Patients With Penicillin Allergy,” Surgery
You can read more about our Literature Award recipients and their research at