Abstract Hero image

Press Release

November 18, 2022

Brian Dee Receives ASHP Foundation 2022 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award

The ASHP Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards. This awards program, sponsored by Medi-Dose and Samson Medical Technologies, features three categories that recognize innovative and impactful pharmacy residency preceptors and programs.

This year, the Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award recipient is Brian Dee, PharmD, BCCCP, BCNSP, FCCM of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dee’s teaching philosophy centers on “teaching learners how to think,” as “critical thinking and problem-solving skills are of utmost importance because they build upon the ability to synthesize and analyze multiple pieces of information.” In addition, Dee develops close relationships with the residents, individualizing rotation activities and accommodating different learning styles.

Former resident Courtney S. Watts Alexander says, “Most preceptors provide constructive criticism related to performance; however, Brian goes beyond simply providing feedback to assist residents in developing strategies to improve their strengths further while tackling their specific areas for improvement regardless of whether they are related to the individual rotation. He identifies and celebrates the “little victories” with residents to promote confidence and self-assuredness.”

The other Pharmacy Residency Excellence Award recipients are:

  • New Preceptor Award

    Cory P. Coffey, PharmD, BCACP, BCPP
    Residency Program Director | Assistant Professor – Practice | Specialty Practice Pharmacist
    The Ohio State University
    Columbus, OH

    Cory Coffey’s individualized approach to precepting includes frequent meetings with the residents he mentors and facilitating discussions among the residents themselves. He has found that doing so allows residents to “challenge their ability to effectively explain and deliver therapeutic recommendations,” which, in turn, gives them confidence when giving recommendations to the patient care team. In his five years as a preceptor, he “transformed our PGY1 and PGY2 residency programs through outstanding precepting, exceptional mentorship, and strong leadership,” says residency program director Kelli Barnes.

  • Program Award

    West Virginia University Hospitals
    Postgraduate Year Two Internal Medicine Residency Program
    Morgantown, WV

    Jay L. Martello, PharmD
    Program Director

    Daniel P. O’Neil, PharmD, MS
    Director of Pharmacy

    The postgraduate year two internal medicine residency program at West Virginia University Hospitals is shaped by their passion for helping those in need. Residents and preceptors in this program routinely practice in underserved areas to eliminate rural health disparities. In addition, residents produce and publish innovative research, which has led to meaningful changes at the institution.

    Preceptor Sheena L. Burwell says, “Our Program excels in innovation to enhance patient care, advocates for the underserved (both locally and globally), and actively seeks feedback to better our preceptors, program, and region alike.”

    You can read more about our Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards at  ashpfoundation.org/ExcellenceAwards.