Abstract Hero image
Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards

2022 Preceptor Award

Brian Dee, PharmD, BCCCP, BCNSP, FCCM 

The Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award recipient is Brian Dee, PharmD, BCCCP, BCNSP, FCCM of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dee’s teaching philosophy centers on “teaching learners how to think,” as “critical thinking and problem-solving skills are of utmost importance because they build upon the ability to synthesize and analyze multiple pieces of information.” In addition, Dee develops close relationships with the residents, individualizing rotation activities and accommodating different learning styles.

Former resident Courtney S. Watts Alexander says, “Most preceptors provide constructive criticism related to performance; however, Brian goes beyond simply providing feedback to assist residents in developing strategies to improve their strengths further while tackling their specific areas for improvement regardless of whether they are related to the individual rotation. He identifies and celebrates the “little victories” with residents to promote confidence and self-assuredness.”

Register for Dr. Dee's live webinar on Wednesday, May 17, 2023 from 2:00-3:00 PM ET, "Precepting Pharmacy Residents Through the Peaks and Troughs of Training." This webinar is not for CE.

Brian Dee, PharmD, BCCCP, BCNSP, FCCM

Recipient, 2022 ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award

Support the ASHP Foundation

With your meaningful contributions, we can continue to support programs that advance pharmacy practice, enhance medication safety, and improve patient outcomes. Help us move pharmacy forward by donating today.